HAWAII POLICE DEPARTMENT

SPECIAL OFF-DUTY EMPLOYMENT
RATE SCHEDULE
Contact Information:
· Districts of SOUTH HILO, NORTH HILO, HAMAKUA and PUNA:

    Rose Granadosin (Telephone 808 961-2291 / Fax 808 961-2390)

Office Hours:  7:45 AM to 4:30 PM (Mon. – Fri.)
· Districts of KONA, SOUTH KOHALA, NORTH KOHALA and KA’U:

    Rose Granadosin (Telephone 808 961-2291 / Fax 808 961-2390)
                            Office Hours:  7:45 AM to 4:30 PM (Mon. – Fri.)

Rules and regulations relating to Special Duty Services that were adopted pursuant to Section 91-4, Hawaii Revised Statutes, in May 1995:
1.
Request for services should be placed not less than five (5) days in advance.  The Department will try to accommodate late requests, dependent on the availability of officers.  If an emergency occurs which immediately requires last minute special duty officers and the Finance Office is closed, you may contact the respective district’s police station.  They will try to find an officer for you.
2.
The following information is needed for each job:  billing address, dates, times, location of jobs/events, type of service needed (escort, security, traffic control), how many officers, contact person, phone number of contact person, and any special requests.  If no one answers the phone, leave the information on the answering machine.
3.
Cancellations must be phone in to the special duty line at 961-2322 (for East Hawaii) or 961-2322 (for West Hawaii) at least two (2) hours prior to the start of the job.  The employer will inform the Special Duty Clerk or leave a message on the answering machine.  The employer should leave their name, company’s name, job location and the cancellation message.
4.
If cancellation is made less than two (2) hours before starting time, the two-hour minimum will be charged to the employer.
· Officers shall receive payment at the rate of time and one-half for work performed in excess of eight (8) hours per day or forty (40) hours per week for one employer.
· A Release and Indemnification Agreement must be signed, notarized and the original copy received by the Special Duty clerks before the job will be scheduled.

I.
GENERAL PROVISIONS

A.
Vendors are responsible to pay the officers directly for any fees assessed as a result of employing police officers for Special Off-Duty employment in accordance with Hawai’i Police Department General Order 413.

B.
Vendors are responsible for compliance with the payment of wages and other compensation law.

C.
Payments must be made within thirty (30) days from assignment; failure to comply may result in a penalty being imposed.
II.
COMPENSATION RATE FOR OFFICERS:
A.
Police Officers performing Special Off-Duty work shall be compensated by the vendors at the following rates:

· Police Officer

$48.00 per hour (two-hour minimum)

$24.00 for each additional one-half hour or fraction thereof
· Sergeant / Detective
$50.00 per hour (two-hour minimum)

$25.00 for each additional one-half hour or fraction thereof
· Lieutenant


$52.00 per hour (two-hour minimum)

$26.00 for each additional one-half hour or fraction thereof

· Captain


$54.00 per hour (two-hour minimum)

$27.00 for each additional one-half hour or fraction thereof
B. Rates may be increased by the vendor if necessary as provided by law and/or job requirements.

III.
COMPENSATION RATE FOR USE OF VEHICLES

A. Police Officers performing Special Off-Duty work requiring the use of a vehicle shall be compensated at the following rate:

1. A minimum of $.60 per mile or $14 an hour, whichever is greater.

2. These fees shall be payable directly to the officer.

B. For escort service, compensation for mileage shall be tabulated from the officer’s residence to the completion of the escort and ends at the officer’s residence.

C. If the assignment is not an escort, however officers are required to use their vehicles while on site, then mileage is tabulated from jobsite to jobsite.

D. If a County-owned vehicle is utilized, then the fee shall be payable to the County of Hawai’i Director of Finance.
IV
ADMINISTRATIVE FEES

An administrative fee of $4.50 per hour payable to the County of Hawaii Director of Finance will be assessed per job site location.  A job site location will construe a period of continuous hire not to exceed 24 hours.  It is calculated per job site location regardless of the number of officers hired.
